CFHZ Board of Trustees elects new members, new slate of officers

There are three new faces on the Community Foundation of the Holland/Zeeland Area’s Board of Trustees. Scott Brooks, Erin Zylman, and Lydia Steeby were elected during the board’s May 11 annual meeting, the foundation announced. 

"They each bring a unique set of strengths, talents, and lived experiences that will enable us to continue making positive and meaningful impacts for all in our community," says Mike Goorhouse, CFHZ's President/CEO.

Scott Brooks is president of Brooks Capital Management and CEO of Liv Communities — a residential hospitality company that develops, owns, and operates multifamily and senior living communities. 

Brooks serves as board chair for Lakeshore Advantage and enjoys serving on advisory boards for numerous organizations and efforts ensuring the continued outstanding quality of life enjoyed in the Holland/Zeeland community. In addition to his leadership on the board, Brooks will serve as a member of the Investment Committee.

Erin Zylman is a financial adviser and Certified Financial Planner with Edward Jones Investments. Zylman has lived and served in the Holland community for 14 years. She has worked in the financial services industry for 20 years and brings a diverse retail, institutional, and investment management background.

Zylman is a board member for the Greater Ottawa County United Way, a United Way Community Panel member, a board member for Resilience: Advocates for Ending Violence, a member of Women of Color Give, and serves as the Diversity and Inclusion Leader for her local Edward Jones region. In addition to her leadership on the board, Zylman will serve as a member of the Development Committee.

Lydia Steeby is a senior at Holland High School and serves as the board’s youth trustee. She has been a member of the Youth Advisory Committee (YAC) since 2019 and will serve as Chair of YAC for the 2021–22 school year. Along with her role in YAC, Steeby enjoys participating in varsity swimming, basketball, and soccer, and volunteers through the National Honor Society.

These three new members replaced trustees Jane Patterson and Dale Sowders, and Andrew Ky, a youth trustee and past chair of the Youth Advisory Committee.

Officers elected

In addition, a new slate of officers for the Board of Trustees was also elected during the board’s annual meeting.

Deborah Sterken will serve as board chair. She succeeds Jim Bishop, who held the position of chair in 2020. Sterken, who spent many years in the nursing field, joined the board in May 2016.

Diane Kooiker will serve as chair-elect. Kooiker also joined the board in May 2016. She is the co-owner of Agritek Industries Inc. and the director of Herrick District Library in Holland.

Tom Den Herder, president and CEO of Yacht Basin Marina, will serve as secretary; and Mark Harder, a partner in the law firm of Warner Norcross + Judd, LLP, will continue to serve as treasurer.

The foundation’s current board of trustees consists of 15 community leaders and a Youth Advisory Committee representative. The board is chosen to assure broad representation across various sectors of the community. 

Trustees, who serve as volunteers, may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. During their tenure, they are tasked with overseeing foundation operations and investments, review grant requests and allocate resources to respond effectively to needs and opportunities, creating positive, lasting change for the Holland-Zeeland community’s future.


CFHZ Community Stabilization Fund grants to nonprofit partners continue in 2021



Read more articles by Shandra Martinez.